Choices and decisions

Over the years I have made many decisions and had many choices. How do I know I have made the right decision? How do I decide which of the choices to follow? When I look back I can see choices I made that I thought were good ones but turned out to be not quite so good later. Were these wrong choices? No, I don’t think they were. At the time that choice was the right one. Life is not perfect and we have many lessons to learn during our lifetime on this planet. So often we choose to do something that gives us a big lesson to learn.

If we look at our life as a journey then we are going to have twists and turns along the way. We are going to have choices which lead us in a different direction than others expect of us but we must always make the choices we feel are right for us and not be influenced by others. Sometimes I ‘chew over’ in my mind, my options about things. Do I do this or do I do something else? Sometimes I make a list of the good reasons and then a list of the bad reasons for doing something. But generally I go by my gut instinct.

One of the things I learned about making decisions was something that took some time to fathom out. I used to get invites to events and I would dither about whether to go or not. Eventually I learnt that if I dithered about going then I should not go. If my immediate response to the invite was to say yes than that was right.

My most recent decisions have been about moving house. I have been wanting to move for some time now but could not decide where to go and then words said by someone else triggered a decision and once I had made that decision everything else fell into place. The house I found to live in was sorted out in 3 days which is unheard of in the house rental business so this was so obviously the right house in the right place and at the right time. It felt right too and once I saw the house and the area it was in, I felt I had come home.

So how do you decide what choices to make? How do you make decisions? Do you find it easy to do this? My photo today shows a fork in the path. How do you know which way to go? What calls you?

choices

 

 

Leave a Reply

