More on taking things for granted

I am writing this with one hand. An unexpected event occurred on Friday evening. I was doing something quite normal with my left hand when I got a very sharp strong pain around my thumb. Overnight the hand swelled and the pain got worse and I could not use the hand at all.

Here in the UK we have walk in clinics often attached to small hospitals so I asked a friend to take me there. After four long hours and lots of x-rays I was back home with my wrist and thumb splinted so I could not use them.

Until you don’t have the use of a hand you don’t understand just how difficult it is to do things using only one hand. I think I am being given some lessons to learn this week. And yet I have known people who only had one arm and they always seemed to manage OK. I think that you learn to adapt and find ways of doing things so this is what I shall be doing until my appointment at the fracture clinic on Thursday.

So this blog is shorter than usual for obvious reasons.  I shall now go and find a way to have a wash and get dressed without any help. It has made me appreciate what others go through at times in their lives. And also appreciate the dedication of the nurses who are not paid enough for their work.

2 thoughts on “More on taking things for granted

  1. I’ve been in that situation as well. Several years ago I woke up unable to move or use my left arm…the symptoms were stroke-like, my GP thought it was but, in fact it turned out to be a post-viral neurological problem that had caused the nerve paths to my left arm to wither away…..fortunately I’m right-handed. There was no timescale as to when, or if, normal function would return.
    Basic personal hygiene, driving, employment and all the other taken for granted things suddenly became difficult without help. I found myself frustrated, annoyed with myself (and irrationally) with others…particularly those closest to me. At the time I didn’t have a spiritual mindset to help me process these things. As a druid now, I can accept that being part of the natural world inevitably brings limitations…though that doesn’t make practical tasks easier!
    It was at least 6 weeks before I began to feel a return of control to my arm which had hung down limply. I learned some important personal lessons, not least compassion for those who have to live with such things, and worse, every day of their life. I also learned the important distinction between pity and compassion…the first was not welcome, but second was. Hope you recover soon.John /l\

Leave a Reply

