What drives us?

What drives us? What is it and does it change over the years. I have been thinking about this quite a lot recently. In my early years I loved music and learned to play the piano reaching diploma standard by the time I was sixteen. It was music and the love of it that drove me then. But a love of art also joined in, painting, drawing and just being outside doing this too. When my children were of school age I was working, going to art classes and studying part-time for a degree in science mainly geology. Then the love of the landscape took over together with the music and art. It was good to know how the landscapes I loved so much had formed and this drove me onwards to find out more.

Throughout my working life music had played an important part as well as painting and being outside in nature. But when I got the opportunity to retire, did these things change? I now had time to do other things but music and art were still there as a driving force but then I began to write.The writing has taken over from the painting but the music is still a part of my life even if I can not play the piano so much nowadays. But I can’t seem to stop writing. I research for historical writing and watch nature for my creative writing but everything I have done is a form of creativity.

So what do I call that urge to create, that urge that drives me on? I have no idea what to call it but it comes from deep down in my soul. Creating is a way of life, I need to do it and am compelled to do it. Some would say Spirit is driving me on? What would you call it? What drives you on each day and forward into the future? Has it changed over the years? Could you survive without this urge to do things? Even now as my physical body is failing me my brain is active and I keep writing as in this blog. Why do I do this I ask myself. I could sit back and relax and do nothing but that is not my way. I need to be active and if I can’t get outside in nature like I did when I was younger, than at least I can write and take photos. I think I would wither away without this in my life.

One thought on “What drives us?

  1. When I was quite young I became interested in growing vegetables….I used to have my own little plot behind my dad’s garage. That activity stayed with me for over 50 years until my arthritis has made it impossible to continue; though the odd plant pot keeps my hands dirty.
    When I was at school the teachers dissuaded me from taking up art or music because I was clumsy and tone deaf. However, when I retired I found the opportunity to go to the local folk club and discovered a desire to make music rather than just listening. So it was that I bought a concertina and began singing…..something I would have thought impossible.
    An appreciation of photography is something I learned from my dad….it lay dormant within me until about 8 years ago until the advent of digital cameras; now my camera sits in my man-bag and goes with me everywhere.
    When I took my degree in geology 40 years+ ago I was introduced to the vastness of time and the progressive path of evolution. I can see that a creative urge has driven life, in all its forms for millenia and I am just a small part of this. I am both a product of it and also add my own unique contribution to it. It’s only since I discovered druidry that I have found the means to begin to understand it’s origin and ongoing work. This creative drive down the years is what I understand ‘nywfre’ to be, it exists within me and all existances and brings change. The occasional flash of inspiration that wells up within me that enables me to create is what I feel as ‘awen’.
    I also am grateful that I live at the coast and can walk along the cliffs each day and experience the wind off the sea and the ever-changing moods of the sea. This is when I tend to feel the presence of spirit most. If I were to reach a point when I can no longer do this. my life would be very much the poorer….perhaps then creativity would manifest itself in some other form. John /l\

Leave a Reply

