Ethnicity

Over the last few years ethnicity seems to have become far too important in our lives. I keep hearing about immigrants from Europe and immigrants from other countries but we all have some genes in common even if only in trace parts. (I am writing about Europe here) Some time ago, several years in fact, I took a DNA test to find out which daughter of Eve I belonged to. This came about because of research by Bryan Sykes on the theory of human mitrochondrial genetics. He classified modern Europeans into seven genetic groups, haplo groups.  Each of these groups shared an ancestor, the original Eve. It is much more complicated than this but I hope I have given you some idea of what I am getting at. From this I gained the knowledge that my group was Katrine and she lived around 15000 years ago.

So what is this to do with druidry? I believe that we are all connected in spirit at least but many of us are also connected genetically although we may not know it. I recently took another DNA test specifically for the purpose of tracing close relatives or distant cousins. This test reveals your ethnicity and many people have been surprised by what they found. So what about my ethnic origins? Briefly I am 82% British, 7% West European, 6% Scandinavian and the rest are traces of the Iberian Peninsular, Eastern Europe, Ireland, Italy and Greece. There will be many others with similar DNA living and working in the UK but who are classed as immigrants because they were not born here. We are all immigrants if you think about it. The British Empire and much of Europe, invaded other countries and pushed out the natives. Americans most of all must know how much of other nations is in their genes.

My ancient origins are Siberia, Sweden, Spain, Hungary and Russia! Now there is something to think about. How do we decide who is an immigrant and how are they different from us? Think of the Vikings and the Normans who invaded Britain and how much of their genetic heritage is in our own genes.  Will the advent of all this DNA research help us to be more tolerant of those we feel are not like us? If we all descend from the  ‘Eve’ of Bryan Sykes (not the biblical Eve) then we are all connected.

I hope you have managed to sift through my words and understand what I am getting at.

katrine

 

2 thoughts on “Ethnicity

  1. Just before my time, where I grew up there were many Polish pilots stationed to fly Hurricanes and Halifax bombers during WW2…..they were welcomed for their efforts on our behalf. Two generations on, memory fades! Not only do we share genetic links, we also share common experiences and effort in the face of adversity. The heavens forbid, but if that situation arose in the present day…..I wonder what the response would be?

    How does it connect with druidry? We need to take a much longer view of how and in what way we all related…with both those we currently call friend as well as those now out of our favour. John /l\

Leave a Reply

