Silence

Yesterday I was talking to a friend about something she had shared on social media. The item was a photo of a protest in Turkey. There was no shouting or talking and no placards. The people stood there in silence and those in authority did not know what to do. I hope that those standing in silence were all thinking the same thoughts of peace, truth and love. Silence is a powerful thing. I have spent time in places where others have been having a silent retreat. No talking to each other even at meal times.

This leads me to thinking about how much noise there is in our world. This morning for example, I first hear the central heating boiler come on, then the noise of a car in the street. Later there was the noise of children next door. The fan heater makes a noise, the fridge and freezer make noises as does anything mechanical that has a thermostat. If I open the door I can hear the noise of traffic on the dual carriageway. I am writing this blog on mny computer and the fan is running making yet another noise. Our worlds are so noisy it is a wonder that we can think properly.

I feel that it is time for me to take a retreat somewhere that is quiet and the only noises are the sounds of nature, birds singing, the running water of a stream and so on. Have we let the constant noise in our lives change our lives? Do we take time out to be silent or as silent as is possible? It is much easier to think about things if there is silence around us and when you can find the silence within you then that is even better. Many of us are able to find that deep silence within us wherever we are at that time. But I find it much easier if I am out in nature even if there are many other people around me. How do you feel about all the daily noise? Do you find time to be in silence? Does it make you feel better and think more clearly?

rainyday

2 thoughts on “Silence

  1. I like not having a fridge in no small part for the quiet this gives me. I think artificial noise can be exhausting and noise pollution is something we don’t take nearly seriously enough.

Leave a Reply

