This week

The week started with sadness as we remembered those who died in the many wars we have had. Then on Friday we started with Children in Need which always makes me feel sad. Why do we have to raise money for those in need when our governments should be using the taxes we pay to do this? Then later that day, the terror attacks in Paris.

I feel a deep sense of sadness within me. What is happening to humanity? I think of the words of Gandhi ‘An eye for an eye makes the whole world blind’. I think of the words of Martin Luther King JR ‘Darkness cannot drive out darkness, only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate, only love can do that.’

How can we break this cycle of violence? What happened on Friday in Paris and in other parts of the world will lead to more violence. There has to be another way but I am feeling very tested about my beliefs in finding a peaceful world. Everywhere in our world there is someone who is hurting. Everywhere, not just Paris or here or in America.

Here is a druid prayer for peace. Let it resonate throughout the whole world.

Deep within the still center of my being,

may I find peace.

Silently within the quiet of the Grove,

may I share peace.

Gently and powerfully,

within the greater circle of humankind,

may I radiate peace.

sanctuarypic2

Leave a Reply

