Taking things for granted

My thoughts are a bit rambling this morning so I hope my readers can understand what I am getting at.

In our society we take many things for granted. We expect to have food to eat, clothes to wear and a roof over our head. We also take for granted our health, eyes, ears and physical well being. So what happens when one of these physical parts fails? It is then that we realise what we have taken for granted and can no longer have. For example, I was always an outdoors kind of person. I cycled, walked and climbed for many years appreciating the wonderful natural scenes around me. I no longer have the ability to do these things and spend many hours inside. But I do have the ability to see and hear so watching birds on my feeder is a wonderful thing to do. I have two goldfinches who visit at regular intervals during the day. They are beautiful little birds and so affectionate with each other. They always come together and yesterday they shared the same part of the feeder often nuzzling each other as well. What joy they bring!

What I am trying to say here, is that things change so don’t take for granted everything that you have now. Appreciate it and welcome it into your life. Make the most of today for tomorrow may be different. And also respect the changes that others have in their lives and help them to look forward and not regret what they missed earlier. Think about what you can give to those who no longer have the ability to have the same as you.

Here are my goldfinches taken on the camera from inside the house.

goldfinches

Leave a Reply

