Being thankful

I am very thankful for my friends with whom I spent yesterday. We went first to a lovely place called Deene Park, beautiful house and grounds although we only strolled around the grounds. It was Snowdrop week and there were so many different kinds of snowdrops to see. The peace and tranquility of the landscape was wonderful for me too. Looking at the shrubs already in flower and seeing all the flowers made me feel more hopeful that our land is still fine despite our efforts to destroy it. We had tea and cake in the little tea room which had been the old kitchen. There was a wonderful log fire in the old kitchen range.

We then went to the Forestry Commission Fineshades Wood. I have been here before and wanted to see how my old ash tree was doing. The first time I went, it was the most amazing tree with an extremely large canopy. The last time I went it had been lopped and almost cut in half. Yesterday it was still there but bare and with even less branches. It was still quite awesome though. On our way back we passed the stump of an ancient beech. Another ancient tree cut down. I can only assume it had become dangerous as in general the Forestry Commission do not cut down ancient trees.

The whole day gave me so much pleasure. Being out in nature replenishes the soul, allows me space to breathe and makes me thankful for my life, my friends and for what is around me. My photo this week is not of the ancient ash but of the landscape in Deene Park which gave me time to pause for reflection

What makes you thankful?

deene

Leave a Reply

