Starting the day

I love the early mornings. It is often still and peaceful and it is so uplifting to watch the sun rise. This morning was such a morning, still, peaceful and easy to connect with all that is.

I have a morning ritual and have done this ritual in different forms for many years. Some days I just welcome the new day, another time I welcome the sun and the warmth and light it brings. On wet days I give thanks for the rain as it is generally needed to water the earth and enable the plants to grow. Other times I may welcome each direction in turn thanking them for the gifts they bring. Another way I sometimes use is to thank Mother Earth and Father Sky and offer them tobacco. Whatever I do, my day seems brighter and I am more able to cope with whatever life throws at me. The short time of stillness and connection stays with me throughout the day.

Do you have morning rituals? If so, what do you do? If not, why not try it and see if it makes any changes to your life. Here are the trees this morning with the early morning sun shining on them.

autumnmorning

One thought on “Starting the day

  1. I take my coffee and stand outside the kitchen door, facing east and if the sun is coming up, I’ll see it over the fence. If not, I’ll wonder out a bit further and gaze at the garden. Random thoughts will usually pass about what’s happening in the weather or the plants, I give a few moments of thanks or requests for the day, then it’s back to the kitchen to start the business of breakfast and waking the others.

Leave a Reply

