Signs of Spring

I woke up this morning to a slight covering of snow. But earlier in the week I had been walking around my garden. This garden is of course new to me so I do not yet know what joys it holds. In one corner by the shed, a sheltered spot, I noticed several bulbs poking their green shoots through the ground. Some look like crocuses and others like daffodils but of course there could be snowdrops. I love to see the signs of spring bringing with them the promise of warmer days and shorter nights. But here we are with winter snow and more to come. It always seems a bit of a paradox to me that here we are in the winter yet spring is showing signs of its arrival. In the UK the snow tends to come in January and February so this is quite normal for us.

But the snow is always beautiful, glistening in the sunshine and unless we have a lot more it will soon be gone. The birds are still chattering in the trees and they seem to be finding lots of insects to eat despite the cold weather. But the sight of the bulb shoots gives me hope as we see the changes in our world. Nature keeps going whatever we throw at it and so should we keep going, hoping and working to change things that are wrong or do not fit with what our lives should be. Look for the signs of spring in your garden. What can you see now?

This weeks photo was taken by my son some years ago in France during a heavy snowfall. It has been on here before but I rather like it.

january

One thought on “Signs of Spring

  1. My snowdrops usually surprise me. The shoots are almost invisible under the yew bush until the flowers show – but as I sit here now and look through the window, I can see the shoots already there. I’m always fearful that the snow will damage the early plants, but in fact they seem to survive very well – perhaps they are just the right plants at the right time, if you know what I mean.

Leave a Reply

